#### KURUKSHETRA UNIVERSITY KURUKSHETRA (Established by the State Legislature Act XII of 1956) ("A" Grade, NAAC Accredited)

#### **NOTIFICATION**

The Hon'ble Chancellor of the Kurukshetra University has been pleased to approve the amendments/additions to Statutes 8 and 12 of the K.U. Act & Statutes, 1986 as passed by the Executive Council vide its Resolution No.47 of 29.3.2011 and assented to by the Hon'ble Chancellor on 22.06.2011 as per <u>Annexure-'A'</u> which is uploaded on University Website : www.kuk.ac.in for keeping the record update.

Sd/-Assistant Registrar (Academic) for Registrar Amendment/addition to Statutes 8 and 12 appearing in K.U. Act & Statutes, 1986 at pages 29-33 and 37-41 as approved by the Executive Council vide its Resolution No.47 of 29.3.2011 and assented to by the Hon'ble Chancellor on 22.6.2011.

# EXISTING Court and its Constitution

## AMENDED

8.(1) The Court shall consist of the following members, namely:-

 (a) Ex-officio Membersxxx xxx xxx
(b) Other Members-

(i) to (iii) xxx xxx xxx

- (iv) one principal from the colleges of education admitted to the privileges of the University, on the basis of seniority, by rotation;
- (v) one principal to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals holding their posts in a substantive capacity in colleges, other than colleges of education, included in each of the four zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor;
  - (vi) four teachers other than principals to be elected from amongst themselves by the teachers holding their posts in a substantive capacity in colleges (except the colleges maintained by the University) included in each of the four zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor.

Provided that not more than one teacher under this subclause shall belong to any one college. **NO CHANGE** 

#### DELETED

- (iv) (a) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in Government Colleges of Arts, Science/Commerce, included in each of the two zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor.
  - (b) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in Non-govt. colleges of Arts, Science/ Commerce, included in each of the four zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor.
  - (c) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in Colleges/ Institutes of Education.
  - (d) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in other

professional colleges.

Provided that not more than one teacher elected from a zone shall belong to any one college, and out of the three elected teachers from a zone at least one shall be a woman.

 (vii) Secretary, Kurukshetra University Students' Union and two Secretaries to be elected from amongst themselves by secretaries of the Students' Union in Colleges for the period from the date of election till 31<sup>st</sup> May of the academic year;

(viii) & (ix) xxx xxx

two persons elected from (x) amongst themselves by the representatives of the managements of nongovernment colleges. The representatives of the managements shall be from amongst the members of the concerned managements.

(c) xxx xxx xxx ( xxx xxx xxx xxx xxx x

#### Academic Council and its Constitution

**12.**(*I*) The Academic Council shall consist of the following persons, namely–

I. Ex-officio Members:-

XXX XXX XXX

- II. Other Members:-
  - (i) to (iii) xxx xxx xxx
  - (iv) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in substantive capacity in the colleges included in each of the constituencies mentioned below:
    - (a) Government Colleges, other than the Colleges of Education;
    - (b) Colleges of Education;

NO CHANGE except that these will be re-numbered as (v), (vi) and (vii) respectively.

- (viii) four persons elected from amongst themselves by the representatives of the managements of colleges, as mentioned below:
  - (a) two persons elected from managements of Non-professional colleges, i.e. Arts, Science/ Commerce colleges;
  - (b) two persons from managements of professional colleges.

(c)	XXX	XXX	XXX
XXX		XXX	XXX

## **NO CHANGE**

- (iv)(a) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in Government Colleges of Arts, Science/ Commerce, included in each of the two zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor.
  - (b) one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in

other th Educati followi be de Vice-C Provide one tea this cla	overnment Colleg ion, in each o ng four zong emarcated by hancellor. ed that not more acher elected use shall belo e college.	eges of of the nes to by the ore than l under	(c)	Non-govt. colleges of Arts, Science/Commerce, included in each of the four zones to be demarcated by the Vice-Chancellor. one principal and three teachers to be elected from amongst themselves by the principals and teachers respectively, holding their posts in a substantive capacity in Colleges/Institutes of Education.		
			(d)	be elect themselves teachers re posts in a	bal and three ter ted from by the princi spectively, hold substantive ca ssional colleges	amongst pals and ling their pacity in
(v) to (viii) xxx	XXX X	XX	$(\mathbf{v})$ to	Provided that not more than one teacher elected from a zone shall belong to any one college, and out of the three elected teachers from a zone at least one shall be a woman. (viii) xxx xxx xxx		
	XX XX		xxx		XXX	XXX

.....

4